OFN 2016 Board Elections

  • Lead the opportunity finance industry.

  • Vote in OFN's Board Elections.



Congratulations to Lori Chatman, Dave Glaser, and Inez Long who were elected to serve another three-year term on OFN’s Board of Directors at OFN’s Annual Membership Meeting on October 26, 2016. Lori Chatman will resume her role as Chair of the OFN Board. Jim King will serve as Vice Chair, and Dave Glaser as Treasurer.

In December 2016, the OFN Board finalized appointments to OFN’s Board Committees for 2016-2017. Check out the Committees tab for more information about OFN’s 2016-2017 Committee structure, descriptions, and appointments.


In accordance with OFN’s bylaws, the OFN Board of Directors conducts some of its work through Committees. Each year after the Board Elections, the Board determines the structure and description of the Committees that will best serve OFN’s mission to lead the CDFI Industry to ensure that low-income, low-wealth, and other disenfranchised people and communities have access to responsible financial products and services.

In 2016-2017, OFN’s Board Committees are:

  • Executive Committe
  •  Equity Committee
  • Finance & Audit Committee
  • Governance & Nominating Committee
  • Product Committee Publi
  •  Policy Committee

Four (4) out of six (6) of OFN’s Board Committees include seats for OFN Members who are not sitting Board Members because:

  • We want diverse input reflecting Member perspectives,
  • Member priorities help shape Board decisions and Committee participation is a direct way for Members to provide guidance, and
  • Committee service is a way for prospective Board candidates to learn more about the OFN Board roles and responsibilities.

In December 2016, the OFN Board finalized appointments to OFN’s Board Committees for 2016-2017.


Executive & Personnel


Lori Chatman, Chair

Jim King, Vice Chair

Dave Glaser, Treasurer and Finance & Audit Chair

Inez Long, Equity Chair

Pearl Wicks, Governance & Nominating Chair

Penelope Douglas, Product Chair

Keith Bisson, Public Policy Chair


Staff: Fran Lutz



Inez Long, Chair

Chrystel Cornelius
Pearl Wicks


Non-Board Member(s):

Marla Bilonick, Latino Economic Development Center

Yves Mombeleur, Nehemiah Community Reinvestment Fund

Dionna Sargent, Cinnaire


Staff: Annie Holmes

Finance & Audit


Dave Glaser, Chair

Ellis Carr

Chrystel Cornelius


Non-Board Member(s):

Jon Gaines, Wisconsin Women’s Business Initiative Corporation

Salam Nalia, Fresno CDFI


Staff: Beth Lipson

Governance & Nominating


Pearl Wicks, Chair

Penelope Douglas

Dave Glaser

Jake Levine


Non-Board Member(s):

Amy Bunton, Pathway Lending


Staff: Fran Lutz



Penelope Douglas, Chair

Keith Bisson

Jake Levine

Pearl Wicks


Staff: Donna Fabiani

Public Policy


Keith Bisson, Chair

Ellis Carr

Chrystel Cornelius

Dave Glaser

Shane Jett

Inez Long


Non-Board Member(s):

Tristram Coffin, Alternatives Federal Credit Union

Marten Jenkins, Natural Capital Investment Fund

Sadaf Knight, Carolina Small Business Development Center

Salli Martyniak, Forward Community Investments

Peter Grof, New Jersey Community Capital

Carl Seip, Craft3


Staff: Liz Lopez


Non-Board committee members are either a staff member or a Board member of an OFN Member CDFI in good standing.


The OFN Board Committee Structure includes six (6) Committees. Every Committee consists of 3–6 Board Members—depending on the Committee—and four (4) have seats for non-Board Members.

The Committees for which we are inviting recommendations are:

  • Equity Committee
  • Finance & Audit Committee
  • Governance & Nominating Committee
  • Public Policy Committee


Committee Members assume a workload of approximately 1.5 hours per month. Some Committees require more, some require less. In almost all instances, Committees meet by teleconference calls. The OFN Board expects Committee Members to participate in all Committee meetings except for extraordinary events.

Board Candidate Criteria

Prospective Board candidates must be on the staff or Board of an OFN Member organization and receive nominations from at least two different OFN Members to qualify as a candidate.

OFN expects Board Members to attend all Board meetings. The Board meets in person four times a year—usually once in Philadelphia; once in Washington, DC; once at a Member's site; and once—briefly—at the Annual Conference. The Board also meets by teleconference for time-sensitive decisions. And Board members participate on at least one—and often two—committees. Each committee meets regularly on a schedule it sets.

OFN seeks a Board with ethnic, racial, and gender diversity that reflects our Members' range of financing types and geographic reach.

See the full 2016 Candidate Profile for more information about what the OFN Board sought in Board members for 2016.

OFN's bylaws require that the Board of Directors consists of at least 9 and no more than 16 Directors. The OFN Membership must elect at least two-thirds of the Directors. The Board may appoint up to one-third of the Directors. Currently, OFN has 13 Directors on its Board—11 elected, 2 appointed. Directors’ terms are limited to 2 consecutive 3-year terms, exclusive of partial terms.

The OFN Board appoints a Governance & Nominating Committee to oversee the election process. The Governance Committee is charged with recommending Board size and composition, prospective Board member criteria, and identifying, recruiting, and recommending a slate of candidates each fall at the Annual Membership Meeting (also known as OFN Connect).

In accordance with OFN's bylaws, each Member CDFI must identify a Voting Delegate to attend the Annual Membership Meeting and complete the ballot on behalf of her or his organization. A voting quorum comprises one-third of the Members.

In 2016, for the first time in its history, the OFN Board of Directors approved the use of proxy voting at the Annual Membership Meeting. The Board appointed Seth Julyan, Senior Vice President of Membership to act as official proxy on behalf of Members who are unable to attend the Conference.

Each Member may vote―whether in person or by proxy―for candidates up to the number of vacant seats, with a maximum of 1 vote per candidate. The candidates who receive the most votes win.

The Governance & Nominating Committee announces the results of the election shortly after the election in person at the Conference and via email and social media communication outlets.

Printer Friendly and PDF