The FHLBank Chicago is currently accepting nominations for its annual Community First Awards, which recognize FHLBank Chicago members and their local partners as they work together to strengthen the communities they serve. As part of the Awards program, recipients identify a nonprofit organization to receive up to $10,000 on their behalf. 

Nominations are accepted annually from FHLBank Chicago shareholders and housing associates (State Housing Finance Agencies, IHDA, and WHEDA) in four categories: Partnership, Project or Program, Pioneer, and Emerging Leader.  

The deadline for nominations is Friday, January 17. See below for more details about each award category.

  • Partnership: This category recognizes the collective, ongoing efforts of a multidisciplinary team of stakeholders to make positive and long-lasting impacts.
  • Project or Program: This category honors an outstanding single- or multi-family project, or an innovative program, in support of a broader community and/or economic development strategy. Projects must have completed construction within the last three years and be in either Illinois or Wisconsin to be eligible in this category.
  • Pioneer: This category commends a career of achievements by an individual who has demonstrated an ongoing dedication to investing his or her time and improving his or her surroundings through community and/or economic development activities. This individual’s characteristics may include perseverance, consensus building, the ability to share knowledge, and a steadfast vision. Eligible nominees may be employed by an FHLBank Chicago member or a partner organization.
  • Emerging Leader: This category recognizes the promise of an individual new to the affordable housing and/or community development field (defined as 10 or fewer years in the field). This individual’s characteristics may include natural curiosity, confidence, receptivity to new or unconventional approaches, and humility. Eligible nominees may be employed by an FHLBank Chicago member or a partner organization.

The Community First Awards will be presented at FHLBank Chicago's regional member meetings.

Submit a nomination.

Read about the 2019 awardees.


Make Headlines

Send us your CDFI news by email, or by tweet to @OppFinance.


Get updates on the latest CDFI news and information! View an archive of OFN's Blog Digest newsletter HERE.

Related Articles